Thursday, January 27, 2011

The Cure - Live Denver - Sept. 4, 1989

Robert Smith was saying that the Disintegration tour was going to be the last of The Cure. I guess he was technically correct because it seems that after this, they dropped "The" from The Cure and all the releases were simply by "Cure".

Anyway, when we heard that they were playing in Denver, we started hatching schemes to go and see them. Somehow, Denver was deemed too far for me to stray and mom insisted on going with. Kevin's mother packed him a lunch- it was cute.

Mom was going to sit in the car for the show. We had Heather's ticket with us, with instructions to scalp it. After driving to Denver the long way (I-70), it seemed silly to make mom sit in the car and the effort of scalping the extra didn't just didn't seem worth it. Heather was kind of peevish about this once we'd returned to Salt Lake, but I think I hooked her up with a copy of this recording and she calmed down a bit. So, we brought mom into the show and she proved useful in that she snuck the blank tapes into the venue by placing them in her bra.

This was an amazing bill- the Pixies, Love and Rockets, and the Cure. Wish I'd brought batteries and tapes to record the other 2 bands as well as the sound at Fiddler's Green was simply amazing.

Track Listing:

  1. Plainsong
  2. Pictures of You
  3. Closedown
  4. Piggy in the Mirror
  5. A Night Like This
  6. Just Like Heaven
  7. Last Dance
  8. Fascination Street
  9. Love Song
  10. Charlotte Sometimes
  11. The Walk
  12. A Forest
  13. Inbetween Days
  14. The Same Deep Water As You
  15. Prayers for Rain
  16. Disintegration
  17. Lullaby
  18. Close to Me
  19. Let's Go to Bed
  20. Why Can't I Be You/Everybody Wants to Be A Cat/Lovecats
  21. Homesick
  22. Untitled
  23. A Strange Day
  24. Three Imaginary Boys
  25. Boy's Don't Cry
  26. 10:15 Saturday Night
  27. Killing An Arab